File manager not working in Sabayon?

Hi all I’m pretty new to Sabayon (have always been a Debian distro user) and decided to give Sabayon a go. After updating the system I have noticed I cannot open the File manager or should I say I cannot open or browse any of the places like Downloads, Documents etc…When I click on the Files icon it just hangs and never opens?!
Any help much appreciated, Im not the most expert of linux users and Sabayon is a steep learning curve at the moment. But I must say its super smooth and so fast on a 2013 i3 pc with a HDD and no SSD!
Thanks for any information

Hi, I use KDE, Dolphin works for me, but I think there could be a different reason than the DE.
Did you check the partition?

I installed the Gnome version so not sure which is the default file manager for Sabayon Gnome?! The partition is fine, it was working a day ago but now I can’t seem to open any files or location with Files?!

Did you check the filesystems now? Maybe something happened in the meanwhile. Did you check the users access? Can you get some logs? Is FIles only, or another file manager? What happens if you try to list the contents if the home directory in a console?

Hi thanks for all your help and info, I just checked, rebooted and still no joy. I have since installed Dolphin and I can now view files in all places…I will look further into it when I have a bit of time. I did want to ask is it worth looking into installing Mocaccino when its fully developed as I sense the feeling that maybe Sabayon will no longer be supported in the near future?!

IMHO, Mocaccino is the future and will definitely worth, as far as I use Sabayon since 2005, on several computers, updated weekly and still works fine! The same team handles the new distro, so I trust them as I trust myself! There is a transition time that shows they are as reliable as ever! Wait and see, I am sure we will be rewarded with one of the best distros!